Find Nonprofit and Small Business Grants

Advance Search

Only Available for Paid Subscribers
Clear Filters
Search Filters

Beckman Young Investigator (BYI) Program

Grants to USA Young Faculty Members for Research
Projects in the Chemical and Life Sciences

Agency Type:

Foundation / Corporation

Funding Source:

Add to My Calendar 

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation

Deadline Date:

08/09/19 5:00 Pacific Time


Request a Grant Writer

Grants to USA young faculty members in the early stages of their academic careers for innovative research projects in the chemical and life sciences. Funding is primarily intended to foster the creation of new methods, materials, and instruments that will lead to unique scientific research.

Projects proposed for the BYI program should be truly innovative, high-risk, and show promise for contributing to significant advances in chemistry and the life sciences. They should represent a departure from current research directions rather than an extension or expansion of existing programs. Proposed research that cuts across traditional boundaries of scientific disciplines is encouraged.

GrantWatch ID#:

GrantWatch ID#: 174231

Estimated Size of Grant:

Grants are in the range of $600,000 over the term of the project, contingent upon demonstrated progress after the second year of the award.

Term of Contract:

Projects are normally funded for a period of four years. Tenure Track dates for the 2020 program must start after 8/6/2016 and before 8/6/2019.

Additional Eligibility Criteria:

The BYI program is open to those within the first three years of a tenure-track position, or an equivalent independent research appointment, at a United States academic or non-profit institution that conducts research in chemical and life sciences.

Candidates must be citizens or permanent residents of the United States at the time of application. Persons who have applied for permanent residency but have not received their government documentation by the time of application are not eligible. Applicants who have received Form I-797 are eligible to apply.

Investigators can have no more than $225,000 in direct, annualized external funding grants during any BYI Program Year (Aug-July) at time of application. Start-up funds, department-wide instrumentation grants, and "Transition" grants (such as NIH K99/R00) are not counted toward this total.

Institutions with a currently funded BYI are eligible for award consideration.

The Foundation does not provide for overhead or for indirect costs.

Pre-Application Information:

The deadline for applications is August 9, 2019, at 5:00 PM Pacific Time.

The Foundation conducts in-person interviews to make a final selection decision for the BYI awards. You will be notified if you are invited to an interview.

Incomplete applications and/or materials received after any deadline during the application process will be eliminated from the competition.

No individual may apply for a Beckman Young Investigator award more than two times.

Institutions are not limited in the number of applicants who apply at the Letter of Intent stage.

Program Guidelines:

Contact Information:

Before starting your grant application, please review the funding source's website listed below for updates/changes/addendums/conferences/LOIs.

Online application portal:

Nicole Patras, Beckman Young Investigator Program Administrator

Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation
100 Academy
Irvine, CA 92617

URL for Full Text (RFP):

Geographic Focus:

USA: Alabama;   Alaska;   Arizona;   Arkansas;   California;   Colorado;   Connecticut;   Delaware;   Florida;   Georgia;   Hawaii;   Idaho;   Illinois;   Indiana;   Iowa;   Kansas;   Kentucky;   Louisiana;   Maine;   Maryland;   Massachusetts;   Michigan;   Minnesota;   Mississippi;   Missouri;   Montana;   Nebraska;   Nevada;   New Hampshire;   New Jersey;   New Mexico;   New York City;   New York;   North Carolina;   North Dakota;   Ohio;   Oklahoma;   Oregon;   Pennsylvania;   Rhode Island;   South Carolina;   South Dakota;   Tennessee;   Texas;   Utah;   Vermont;   Virginia;   Washington, DC;   Washington;   West Virginia;   Wisconsin;   Wyoming